Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a high school student in my final year and for my Engineering class I have to make a model Slingshot as part of my final exams. This model has to be my own unique design and meet certain constraints and requirements (Steering mechanism, powered rear wheel etc). Along with the actual model I have to produce a design portfolio which must include some research and investigation, problem analysis etc.

I need some to know some things about the inspiration for the Slingshot. Why did Polaris design and build something like this?
I was looking online and thought that here might be the best place for some wisdom!
Thanks in advance, any information is appreciated!

·
Registered
4,836 Posts
I do believe that Polaris was going after the 'Senior Citizen' motorcycle market....they did a good job getting into that group and also grabbed a lot of the younger gays and gals. The Slingshot seems to attract the whole age range as well as both the guys and gals. I've had mine for 2.5 years and have almost 60,000 miles in the seat. I love it.

·
Registered
5,187 Posts
Many of the earliest examples of reverse trikes from which I would imagine Polaris took their inspiration for the Slingshot originated in the UK. I would research the history of reverse trikes there for background info. I would recommend the Reliant Robin as an excellent example of why a performance 3-wheeler is better off using two wheels in front and one in the rear. Also research the benefits of balancing the front-rear weight distribution by using a front engine, rear-drive system as opposed to the more common motorcycle-derived rear-engine approach.