Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts
513 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! I saw some threads here which dealt with questions about the GM Ecotec LE5/LE9 engine in Slingshot, and as I've got many years of experience with the engine in its earlier LE5 form, with many superlative results, I wanted to offer a discussion here in the Hahn RaceCraft forum. I'm happy to share what I know about the engine, so consider this an open discussion. All are welcome to pose questions and/or offer their own insights.

We began to turbocharge the 2.4 liter LE5 in 2006, and immediately struck gold. We were delighted to learn that GM pulled no punches on this, their next chapter of Ecotec. Not only did the engine have a whopping 37 more HP than the 2.2 L61 which preceded it, it also featured a number of impressive internal enhancements.

Variable cam timing was added, giving the engineers a wonderful capability to further broaden the available powerband while ensuring great mileage and drive-ability. The pistons now featured anti-friction coated skirts, another first for Ecotec. Forged connecting rods used the latest in tapered small-end design that simultaneously strengthened the piston while reducing reciprocating weight.

As something which was relatively unprecedented for a normally-aspirated engine of that time, piston-cooling oil jets were added that actually sprayed oil into small cooling passages integral to the underside of the piston dome. Such cooling jets had previously typically only been on forced-induction engines (super or turbocharged), and as we do specialize in forced induction, we were naturally very enthused about this feature.