Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm totally jazzed about the idea of owning a SS but, I have no experience riding motorcycles since I was a teenager on a dirt bike one summer. It seems to more of a roadster car than a cycle. What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
119 Posts
So I'm totally jazzed about the idea of owning a SS but, I have no experience riding motorcycles since I was a teenager on a dirt bike one summer. It seems to more of a roadster car than a cycle. What are your thoughts?
Drive defensively. I don't think any mc experience is needed but watch out for everyone else.

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
If you are going to ride with other motorcycle riders, I suggest you take the safety course. It will help you understand what they are thinking and doing.

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
I would say what everyone else has said is good, the key is the scan. Keep your eyes out for what is in front of you, not just right in front of you but far enough out to be able to think & react.

I've been hit by a deer on a motorcycle before, and managed to stay on 2 wheels. I credit seeing it and knowing how long it was going to take to get there to being my saving grace. (And liberal amounts of luck.)

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
The SS will be a great place to start. Just get used to blind spots and checking your periphery. Welcome to the open road!

·
You could've had a V8
2,380 Posts
No need to worry, assuming you have driven a car/truck before.

Everything everyone has posted here applies to ALL vehicles, not just motorcycles so all of this advice is fantastic.