Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I purchased our 19 SLR a couple of weeks ago.
Since then, the battery has gone dead 3 times.
The first time, I found the positive cable at the battery very loose. I tightened it, put the charger on the battery till it was full and all was good.
Then a day or two later, I went to start the SS and nothing! I checked the positive cable at thr battery and it was loose again.
I went to the dealer and they installed a new battery bolt.
Several days later, the SS wouldn’t turn over again. I checked the positive cable and it was loose...again. I tightened it, fully charged the battery and will take it for a ride on Saturday and see if it loosens up again,
Since I’m new to Slingshots, is this a known issue?

·
Registered
683 Posts
I haven't heard of that, but my negative was loose when I got mine home, but haven't had issues with it since I tightened it.

Since you just bought it, have the dealer fix it.

Maybe ask them to put a bit of locktite on it.

·
Registered
4,763 Posts
Once tightened, I don't remember hearing about any cables coming loose again. If it happens again, I'd complain to the dealer and if it keeps happening, I'd recommend opening a compliant with Polaris corporate.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies! I'll find out on Saturday when we go for another ride. Just for laughs, is there a better replacement battery that fits the compartment? The OEM battery seems kind of small...

·
Registered
683 Posts
Well, the newer OEM battery is an AGM and many have had good luck with it. Some people who add a lot of new electrical items (big subs/amps, lots of lights) will add a bigger alternator and then a bigger battery.

Many people are fans of the optima yellow top group 34 and add that, and with the newer slings, you need an adapter to put in a bigger battery. All of the big vendors sell them, steel shelf and strap down.