Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

Would you wear an Armored Motorcycle vest on a Slingshot?

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So...my Slingshot came back from a hefty mod job - I'm just doing some final touches with some cosmetic and other small mods, and will be all set for driving.

Matching Helmets...check!

Headsets...check!

GPS...check!

Now...all I need is a matching jacket.

I got a few good contenders that have colors matching my SS, and put one on order - and then...I ran into an armored Motorcycle vest that actually matches my SS as well! It's a beautiful vest.

I wasn't looking for an armored vest - but I fell in love with this thing so much, I'm trying to justify purchasing it.

Are armored motorcycle vests overkill on an open-cockpit vehicle with bucket seats?

I'm no expert on them, but they seem specifically designed for saddle-seats, and I have no recollection of seeing anyone in a Slingshot, or ATV, or any other similar open-cockpit vehicle with bucket-seats, wearing an armored vest. Is that a thing?

Are these vests comfortable when wearing them while seated on bucket seats?

Will I look like a dork? lol

I know I'm considering purchasing the vest for all the wrong reasons, as I wouldn't even think of a vest if it was just a plain black color - but I'm curious to know if there are SS owners that actually wear them, and if the vests are comfortable whilst seated on the SS seats.

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
I don't feel the armor is needed, but if it looks cool and is comfortable, why not? Plus if anyone says it's weird, just tell them you have an R1 at home and you use the same gear for both. ;)

·
Registered
1,225 Posts
Totally unnecessary on a Sling but if you like it, go for it. If you love it, why ask? Plenty of us (99.9%) spend unnecessary $ on our toys.

Seems like comfort would be an issue if you're talking about a standard off-road chest protector like I'm thinking...

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #7