Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know it all speculation until we all get our hands on them but this should be considered.

lets face it we all want to mod this every and any way we can to get the most of it. With it being so light (yet long) that we may need to put a wheelie bar. At the same time Im thinking that the distance from front to rear tire that we should be OK I hope.

·
Registered
702 Posts
I'm no expert but I'd say only with enough power, and a drag tire to get it to the ground, that it would destroy the transmission.

The SS is so long and the CG so low that it's going to take extreme acceleration to transfer all of the weight to the rear wheel.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Duh. *face palm* The way that the transmission is placed it acts as a center of gravity, and the driveshaft spins that torque is a different direction than the tire... If you (and this is hypothetical) take the rear belt and lengthen it to replace the driveshaft somehow then maybe and just maybe it "could" happen; given enough hp:torque ratio...

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Sorry, there's no technical foundation for that statement.

CG is a point in space that depends only on the mass distribution of all of the components.
Yes ik this. As a whole the transmission is connected to the motor and all of the motor and transmission are BOLTED the the car AS A WHOLE!! The weight is then distributed throughout the entire car. Therefore if you look at the pics on the polaris website with just the wheels frame and complete drive tran you can see that you (the driver) sit right next the transmission. The transmission therfore acts as a point of gravity to keep it from flipping.