Polaris Slingshot Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. I am thinking about getting a 2020 R. it looks to me like an automatic is available. What do you guys think about it? $32k. I can got a new 2019 for $17k but I really like the automatic. Is the R much better than the SL? What do you get for the extra money? What do you guys think I should do? I really like the blue and the automatic.

·
Registered
4,981 Posts
The AutoDrive is reported to shift rather oddly. Hopefully, after some time with a bunch of them on the road, one of the Slingshot tuners/modders will be able to offer a more refined shift programming. According to tsting, the 2020 SL Autodrive with less power than the earlier Slingshots is about 1/2 second slower to 60 mph. I would hope the more powerful R tune with manual will be as fast or slightly faster than the earlier Slingshots. With some refined shift tuning, maybe the AutoDrive will be almost as fast as the earlier Slingshots.
Keep in mind you can buy the 2019 Slingshot and convert it to a true automatic transmission meant for a Solstice/Sky with the same 2.4L Ecotec motor for around $6K.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Really? I can do the conversion? Is there anyone around Southern California that does that?

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
good info. Thank you. What is the difference between the 2020 R and SL? They both have the auto drive. Correct? The R has more power?

·
Registered
4,981 Posts
2020 Polaris Slingshot SL - 3 Wheel Motorcycle | Polaris Slingshot - 178 HP, 120 ft lbs Torque, AutoDrive only.

2020 Polaris Slingshot R - 3 Wheel Motorcycle | Polaris Slingshot - 203 HP, 144 ft lbs Torque, Available with 5 speed manual or AutoDrive at extra cost.

Try searching the Forum for automatic transmission conversion. IIRC, DDM Works offered a conversion (ddmworks.com).