Wiring help needed asap

Discussion in 'Polaris Slingshot Electronics' started by moto111, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
    If your going for the footrests like factory you can pop the hood and there are spots to run wiring behind the dash. You can follow the wiring for the 12v accessory port in the Glove box. There are channels all under the Sling to that you used as well for other locations. Where are you placing the Interior LED lights?? Glove box... footwell?? this might help on the wiring location.
     
  2. WingShot

    WingShot ALPHA - Home of the V8 Slingshot

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,600
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    So. IL -Summer, Cape Coral FL-Winter
    image.jpeg I used this 5 channel Alpine amp the sub output is rated 150rms/4ohm. Or 250rms/2ohm. They put a test sheet in each box for each amp. Mine was putting out 332rms/2ohm it will run a 10 inch perfect.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Tinted F4 3.JPG With the hood open - Take a look in the center of the dash - through the middle is open area that you can access left side to drop wire to your footrest / glove box area. I don't think you will need to drill a hole at all. If you have the base model you can pop out center holder where the radio would normally go and you will see area and room to run wires to the glove box area

    Tinted F4 3.JPG
     
  4. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
    @WingShot picture shows the channel to the bottom right you can use for the amplifier wiring when your ready for that... great pic Wingshot!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. WingShot

    WingShot ALPHA - Home of the V8 Slingshot

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,600
    Thanks Received:
    1,233
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Location:
    So. IL -Summer, Cape Coral FL-Winter
    One thin cool with the Alpine amp is it has a plug in for a cable to run to a switch to control the bass at the dash. The rux-knob is $19
     
  6. moto111

    moto111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    266
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Elgin Illinois
    Well I ran the LEDs I didn't think about the other aux port in glove box thanks for that . I popped the other one out ran all the wiring through that then along the roll bar out . Then ran the cord along the firewall to the drivers side . Now Going to store to get the plastic cover stuff for wire . ( no idea official name ) lol . Then going to zip tie everything and 3n tape it down .

    Now that I've done this I think I can run wiring for speakers in same spots just fine. Thanks guys il post a pic when I'm done
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Awesome... on your way to saving $800.00 in installation...:D
     
  8. moto111

    moto111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    266
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Elgin Illinois
    I mean I should be able to do wiring maybe il need it tuned after but that's not much .

    Last 2 questions . to hook amp up to battery am I going to drill a hole in drivers side compartment to do that? And how will I hook the sub amp to the other amp?
     
  9. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Power going to the amplifiers:.... Yes you can drill one hole like you see Wingshots picture (red/black) wire heading back the battery. Or you can also run the power underneath and through one of the channels. Both ways your going to go through ABS plastic and you will be fine. If you go underneath just be sure to keep the wires nice and tight and it will give you an even cleaner look. Linking the amps: The Kenwood you spoke of earlier has RCA "through" plugs that allows you to send the audio signal to a second amplifier for even more sound...i.e. your subwoofer amplifier. Works great, just purchase an extra set of very short RCA cables and your set to link them up.
     
  10. lrobbi

    lrobbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    Messages:
    928
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Trophy Points:
    258
  11. moto111

    moto111 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    266
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Elgin Illinois
    Multi color LEDs installed :) thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 1
  12. nipper51

    nipper51 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    173
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Oak Lawn, IL
    I took the radio out and ran the wires very easily thru that area from left to right side.
     

Share This Page