What parts needed for double din install

Discussion in 'Polaris Slingshot Electronics' started by bulldog03ss, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. bulldog03ss

    bulldog03ss Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Hello guys I have a Pioneer double din DVD player I'm gonna have installed in my Sling. Is there a certain dash kit and wiring harness I need? Thanks in advance
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. BKL

    BKL Slingshot Supporter Slingshot Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,950
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. WraithSS

    WraithSS Hold my beer and watch this!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Thanks Received:
    617
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Montclair, Virginia
    @SlingMods has a radio power harness as well.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Ice9812

    Ice9812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Scranton, Pa
    • Like Like x 2
  5. BKL

    BKL Slingshot Supporter Slingshot Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,950
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    Did you have to modify anything when you used the Clarion mounting kit?
     
  6. Ice9812

    Ice9812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Scranton, Pa
    Just had to trim the slingshot opening a hair but I think that's needed with any double din...as far as the mounting kit no modification everything fit good...it was recommend from a user on here but I can't remember who and the stereo threads were all merged so it's a nightmare to try and find/follow anything
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. _MiM_

    _MiM_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    198
    How did you trim the opening? This is what's holding me back... Waiting for biketronics kit, but thanks for posting the Clarion kit!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. BKL

    BKL Slingshot Supporter Slingshot Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,950
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Spring, TX
    I agree. The merged Threads on any topic are confusing as SH.t to try and follow.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. Tripod

    Tripod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    6,710
    Thanks Received:
    3,522
    Trophy Points:
    448
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Thank you @WI_Hedgehog !!! :D
     
  10. WI_Hedgehog

    WI_Hedgehog Winner of the "Most Factory Defects" award Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    2,447
    Thanks Received:
    1,239
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    • Like Like x 1
  11. SlingMods

    SlingMods Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    2,059
    Thanks Received:
    1,633
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    SLINGMODS.COM - So Cal
    No you do not. The billet CMS5 plate fits in the dash seamlessly. The only thing required with the Clarion plate is to drill 4 small holes for the stainless mounting screws. I do recommend the new Slingshot Aftermarket Radio Power Harness for a plug n play install of the power and ground wires regardless of what source unit you decide to go with.

    The harness supplies 3 wires:
    Yellow = Full time 12v (Uses 25 amp radio fuse in factory fuse block)
    Red = Ignition Switched 12v (Uses 5 amp Gauge Fuse in factory fuse block)
    Ground = Black

    Thanks,
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Ice9812

    Ice9812 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    166
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Scranton, Pa
    I used a small dremel...it only needed an 1/8 on an inch at the most on the upper edge. If I take the stereo out I can still put the factory cubby back in.
     

Share This Page