OOOOkkk. now this is something about my amp setup I didnt realize.

Discussion in 'Polaris Slingshot Electronics' started by jaytizzl, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. jaytizzl

    jaytizzl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Thanks Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    118
    changed out my seats today and realized something that never occurred to me before. My current audio setup is the stock radio connected to a speaker line out to rca converter and then out to my amp. I had my ground wire from my amp connected to the rear bolt in the driver's side seat. Well to make a long story short, I connected the amp ground wire to the floorboard bolt instead of the seat bolt. Immediately I noticed my amplifier putting out more power than before..like 2x the power. much cleaner and louder sound than before. Apparently I had a less than desirable ground which didnt allow the amplifier to perform its job as it was intended. What ground are you guys using for your amps?
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. TravAZ

    TravAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,568
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    AZ
    Drivers side back left seat bolt. Always scrape the paint off of the area and make use some good non-coated washers if needed.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. G-madness-bikerz

    G-madness-bikerz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    227
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Walnut CA
    Mines is directly to the battery.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. 2W2X1

    2W2X1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA (South Bay)
    Used the main ground at the center of the firewall behind the dash.

    Installed the amp using the SSV works amp mounting board.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. MRD

    MRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    364
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Lynden WA
    Direct to the battery with 8 guage. I made a custom mount for my new battery, the battery ground goes to a bolt that comes up throught the frame and throught the 1/4" battery plate (aluminum). This stud allows me to bolt all of my new equipment (2 amps) easily without fighting the battery itself.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Showers007

    Showers007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    South NJ
    I wired jump ports directly from the battery and then ran my amp wires off the back of the jump ports. 2nd pic doesn't have the positive wire connected yet.


    image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
     
    • Informative Informative x 1

Share This Page