Installing rear view camera on base

Discussion in 'Polaris Slingshot Electronics' started by desant89, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. desant89

    desant89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southern, NJ
    Working on my audio build. Just about got everything ordered except sub. Ssv box gonna take too long for me, but that's another story.... I ordered a pioneer 4800bs head unit.
    What do I need to install a camera?
    Where does it go?
    I know there are wires back there somewhere in the fin for a camera, but can I use them? Thanks!
     
  2. TravAZ

    TravAZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Trophy Points:
    353
    Location:
    AZ
    @ClarionMike - Can you link him to the correct thread?

    Buy the stock SL Polaris camera housing and many of the aftermarket cameras will fit with a bit of trimming/filing according to others.

    Also, people have used the stock camera wiring, but I don't recall how....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. WraithSS

    WraithSS Hold my beer and watch this!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Montclair, Virginia
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. desant89

    desant89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southern, NJ
    I actually found one that requires no mods. However, I ended up going with a pretty small license plate cam. The frame actually ca mount behind the plate. I also like that it can be adjusted. Thanks everyone for the information though.
     
  5. desant89

    desant89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southern, NJ
    Ok, didn't install this yet, but I think I will be very happy with it. I just laid it up there with an old plate I had sitting around. The frame mount us thin, and goes behind the plate. I just think this is so simple that that there is no reason to go the factory route for me. I can also aim this one. I can't speak to its quality yet, but it looked decent in reviews...
    20160813_090941.jpg 20160813_090935.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. desant89

    desant89 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southern, NJ
  7. 21stephen

    21stephen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Hello WraithSS is it better to run off the taillight or the transmission and will I need to use a relay.
    If I get the reverse signal off the trans will I still need the relay and would you know what wire to look for thanks
     
  8. Sling ding-a-ling

    Sling ding-a-ling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    632
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Mount Vernon, Wa
  9. WraithSS

    WraithSS Hold my beer and watch this!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Montclair, Virginia
    I pulled the reverse signal off the taillight. Was already back there connecting up the camera, so figured why not just grab the signal there. A relay is necessary since the reverse signal is a negative trigger. The schematic I posted above shows the wire colors to use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. 21stephen

    21stephen New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Do I use a 30amp relay and thanks I are a life saver
     
  11. WraithSS

    WraithSS Hold my beer and watch this!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Montclair, Virginia
    Yes, a 30A SPDT automotive relay will work.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. MRD

    MRD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Lynden WA
    I just installed a Kenwood headset, 7" screen with double din. I did the wiring mod to allow the stock camera by installing the RCA cable but the picture sucked. I had a spare camera but it was smaller so I made a custom fit grommet to make up the difference around the lense then made a new mount that slides into a slot in the factory housing. This allowed me to push the lens in with a friction fit.

    The new camera and radio screen blows away the stock setup
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page