Help! My battery/alternator are not keeping up with my electricals!

Discussion in 'Polaris Slingshot Discussions' started by kagai, Apr 15, 2017.

1. kagai

kagai Active Member

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys,

I'm a rookie with electrical stuff - so please dumb this down for me :)

What do I need to do to fix this problem?

I think I went a little overboard with my electrical mods.

A couple nights ago, I went to drive it, and it was completely dead even though I make a point of remote-starting it every couple days or so (and it runs for 15 minutes when I do so).

So, I decided to stick it on a battery tender and left it charging for the rest of the evening and early morning.

Then I cranked it up in the morning and it worked - so I thought I was good until I drove about a mile and the SS slowly started shutting things down, Clarion first, then the gauge lights, and then finally it completely died.

Got it towed to the dealer, and he mentioned that I have way too many electricals, and it doesn't matter that most of them were not turned on, they're still drawing power, and the alternator is working hard to feed them power, while also trying to recharge the battery - but it's not keeping up.

List of after-market electrical-related stuff added:

Alpha Automatic Transmission conversion
    Alpha variable exhaust (with wireless remote)
    Alpha Front LED grill
    Drone-Mobile Alarm system with remote start
    Corbin Heated seats
    Clarion Receiver (hooked up to a Front and Rear Camera)
    White LED strips that are bundled with a bottom front carbon fiber splitter
    White LED upper brow headlights
    Two additional inner headlights (Canadian conversion)
    Six Angel Eyes LEDs for all the six headlights
    Underglow TricLED kit with bluetooth adapter
    Front and back lighted Hood decals
    Third Brake-light LED strip at the rear hump
    Side-Mirror turn signal lights
    Glove-box light
    Garmin GPS mount (hardwired to power)
    Curb Alert